Imitation of Genealogy …

One of my parents was a dog, the other a goat

One was a tundra, the other a river

In the night I’d wake to heavy foot steps  and the faint smell of tiger balm.

The rose cloth tattooed on my lower back is the one for my mother.

One of my parents was a tyrant, the other a sophist I carried into the night,

Convinced it was magic.

One of my parents I drank, the other I dreamed.

In the revolving door of my becoming,

One listened, and one spoke.

Thus, my troubled birth, my endless rebellion.

One was a pianist, the other a conductor.

How they amused each other.

One was a bird, the other a tree. I was ashamed

Of life, embarrassed I couldn’t fly.

I was a girl calling across the Mekong to a life she didn’t have.

Note:

The assignment that was done was suppose to be done in one sitting without really thinking about my parents. It just flowed. After reflecting back on what I wrote it really hit me that every part of the poem was true. The love between them and the way I felt about them both. It’s just a prose? Who knows.

One of my ex-boyfriends was a sham, the other a dud 

One was a beat, the other a stud.

In the night I’d wake to annoyance and the faint smell of hope.

The stump tattooed on my lower back is the one for growth on love.

One of my ex-boyfriends was an emotional wreck, the other a sarcastic air head I carried into the night, convinced it was forever.

One of my ex-boyfriends I drank, the other I dreamed.

In the revolving door of my becoming,

One stunted, and one grew.

Thus, my troubled birth, my endless growing roots taken for granted.

One was an introvert, the other an extrovert.

How they amused each other.

One was a lie, the other too true. I was ashamed

Of boys, embarrassed I couldn’t fact.

I was a girl calling across the styx to a man she didn’t have.

Note:

This poem taught me a lot after I wrote my second imitation. Let me know what came to mind reading the second piece and what you got from it. I’m interested in hearing your thoughts on the two pieces and how you interpreted it.

Leave a Reply

